AAP launches the Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020 in the Philippines

Tyrell Duncan of ADB Action Plan, AAP President Gus Lagman, WHO Country Representative Dr. Soe-Nyunt-U and DOTC Secretary Jose de Jesus (left to right, seated) listen to ADB VP for Finance and Administration Dr. Bindu Lohani (standing).

The Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), as the chair of the Philippine Global Road Safety Partnership (PGRSP) spearheaded the official launching of the United Nations Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020 on May 11, 2011 at the Quezon City Memorial Circle and Asian Development Bank (ADB) headquarters in the Philippines.

The Decade of Action was initiated by the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) and approved as a resolution by the United Nations General Assembly in 2009 with the objective of cutting the number of road crashes globally and thereby save millions of lives from 2011 to 2020. It was launched on May 11, 2011 in 100 countries via media-oriented "rolling events" that began in the East and travelled to the West in each of the world’s 24 time zones.

Supported by various government agencies, the private sector and non-governmental organizations that are members of the Philippine Global Road Safety Partnership, the Decade of Action was launched with a series of activities in Manila. President Benigno S. Aquino III signed Presidential Proclamation No. 159 calling for support and adherence to the road safety initiatives of the Decade of Action. At the morning launching ceremony at the ADB, Public Works and Highways Secretary Rogelio Singson read the presidential proclamation in the presence of Transportation and Communications Secretary Jose de Jesus, Rep. Roger Mercado, chairman of the House road safety committee, World Health Organization representative in the Philippines Dr. Soe Neunt-U, and AAP president Augusto Lagman.

In the afternoon, the road safety park exhibit at the Quezon Memorial Circle was opened followed by games and road safety lessons and the distribution of the Road Safety Tag to those who signed the Decade of Action Road Safety Pledge. The yellow diamond-shaped tag symbolizes the fight against the suffering, grief and injustice caused by road crashes. Endorsed by celebrities such as Leah Salonga, who is also the Goodwill Ambassador of the UN Food and
Agriculture Organization and Congressman and eight-division world boxing champion Manny Pacquiao, the tag is expected to become a globally recognized icon, similar to the red ribbon associated with AIDS/HIV awareness.


Members of various public transport and motorcycle groups sign the tarpaulin depicting the Decade of Action for Road Safety tag.

At the Quezon Memorial Circle, PGRSP Executive Director Bert Suansing (2nd from the right) leads the Decade of Action for Road Safety parade, together with Pilipinas Shell Manager Boy Isidro (leftmost), Cynthia Reyes of AAP and Sustainable Development Manager Ronald Suarez.

Privacy Policy